Skip to content

In spite of myself . . .

June 19, 2013

Don’t tell anyone, but sometimes I make fun of the quirks of the denomination we’re a part of. I love it. I really do, and yet sometimes parts of the culture strike me as kind of weird. I’m not going to detail them, because if you don’t already know, then it’s probably better!

Over the next two weeks we have the global assembly for our denomination, which only happens every 4 years. We are helping, and so we get to go along. It’s not a little thing, either. There are over 20,000 folks coming from all over the world.

I thought this could very well be one of those things that I quietly poked fun at.

Can I tell you a secret?

I’m having a great time.

There. I said it. Mock me.

Actually, don’t mock me. It hurts my feelings.

Some of my very favorite people in the whole world (literally) are all together. There are leaders and pastors from every country we work or have worked in. Many of them haven’t met our son yet. I love seeing people that I admire so much holding my little one.

** Insert picture of a Nicaraguan lady holding my handsome little chunk. Except I just retrieved my camera after a 2 day adventure with someone else, so I have no new pictures. **

Yesterday I went on a long walk with a girl from Costa Rica. She only lives about an hour away, but we’ve been having trouble finding a time to get together recently. Of course that would happen when we’re not at home!

** Insert picture I didn’t take of a gorgeous summer afternoon by the river with a good friend. **

There are people from teams, members of our families, friends from college, missionaries from everywhere . . . basically, if you want to spend some time with people passionate about serving God and continuing to look for ideas on how to do that in authentic, innovative ways, come here.

That’s not to say that there aren’t quite a few old white guys in suits with too much hairspray and a comb over. There are quite a few of those too. But something that I’ve found is, by and large, even those guys can be pretty cool despite their antiquated fashion. It’s easy to mark someone as stuffy and write them off. It’s harder to do that when you know how genuinely they care about suffering in the world and sharing the hope of Jesus Christ.

** Insert picture of an ill-advised comb over covering the noggin of a nice guy. **

You know those times when you realize that you’re secretly kind of a jerk, even though you do your best to look like a nice person on the outside? Yeah. I had that moment. Except it’s not secret anymore since I just put it on the internet.

Hello world.

Pray with me that above and beyond all the necessary work/meetings/motions/voting/discussing that will happen in the next fews days, that there will be something more. There are many praying that God will make his presence known in a powerful, undeniable, maybe even shocking way. We are praying that he would fan the fire within his people to something so hot that it melts away the dross and leaves only a single-minded, burning desire to serve him no matter what the cost.

Pray with me that it won’t be a meeting. Pray for revival. Hot, painful, necessary, world-shaking, shackle-breaking, hope-giving, life-changing revival.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 19, 2013 1:30 pm

    Where is the best place to run into you at ICC thurs or Fri this week? Ed and I would love to meet you in person.
    LMK

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

